Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (9)

Mirror Mirror review

Posted : 6 months ago on 20 October 2020 04:14 (A review of Mirror Mirror)

Key reactions:

+ I enjoyed the fun take on the villain

+ It made me laugh a few times
+ I can appreciate they were trying to empower the heroine

- I did not buy the chemistry between the princess and prince

- The plotline with the prince's army and Renbock just vanished

- The queen's hair was not wet when coming out of the water so to speak

- I did not like the creative decision to change the fairy tale

- Accents seemed to be American and British which was bothersome


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Booksmart review

Posted : 10 months ago on 18 June 2020 09:01 (A review of Booksmart)

I thought the movie offered a fresh take on a high school comedy.

That being said, many aspects of the plot were unrealistic and raised questions for me:

- connecting with people in one night who you have shared little connection with over four years
- everyone the audience is introduced to happens to be going to an ivy league school which are known to be very selective
- Amy decides to get arrested even though she will presumably have a record
- the police only arrest one person out of a party with upwards of forty people
- the girls do not get in trouble for speeding through the town and crashing through a fence at their graduation
- there were few adults at graduation and seemingly no parents or family members
- only Molly drove Amy to the airport when she would be in a foreign country for a year

It is also disappointing to me that one of the girls' feminist heroes seems to be Michelle Obama or any woman in the Obama family. This makes me question how politically informed they really are, as the Obama administration kicked people out of their houses, jailed journalists who exposed war crimes, and bombed many countries. These policies do not seem to support personal freedoms and equal standards of living.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blended review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 17 July 2019 02:16 (A review of Blended)

This movie has a heart. I like the Adam Sandler/Drew Barrymore team up again. That being said, I know it's "just a romantic comedy" and "supposed to be funny" but I resent the one dimensional way Africa and Africans are portrayed. I also dislike that it endorses tourism, especially as shown here where animals are mistreated and ATVs are ridden in natural areas for the sake of American entertainment. What's more, no qualified field guide would jeopardize the safety of those he or she is responsible for by continually sleeping through their work or allowing anyone on foot so close to a rhinoceros. If this is the only image some people in the western world have of South Africa then it is doing a disservice to the country.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Colette review

Posted : 2 years, 2 months ago on 28 January 2019 02:30 (A review of Colette)

This was a fascinating story with aย lovely soundtrack. I liked to see the writing process or the enacted version of the writing process in any case. Now I have to read all the books!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Molly's Game review

Posted : 2 years, 2 months ago on 20 January 2019 07:00 (A review of Molly's Game)

The film had very fast-paced dialogue that was hard to follow. I caught Idris Elba slip into a London accent once or twice which really hurt the believability of his character for me. I think I liked Player X the best because of his mystery. The lead character's intelligence and attitude were admirable but it felt unfair that she was strapped with so much debt in the end and may not have the opportunity to work again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Death Wish review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 20 January 2019 01:45 (A review of Death Wish)

Elisabeth Shue elevated this picture. Her scenes of panic were very believable. The later violence was gratuitous. I also was not okay with the police just ignoring Paul's crimes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Bridge of Spies review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 17 October 2015 01:35 (A review of Bridge of Spies)

This movie was a little slow and predictable, but I really liked Abel. I did not like the largely one-sided portrayal of Germany and the Soviet Union.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Call review

Posted : 6 years, 10 months ago on 30 May 2014 03:26 (A review of The Call)

I liked parts of this movie. Abigail Breslin is a great actress. I just didn't like the ending very much. All of the loose ends aren't tied up . . .


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Great Expectations review

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 17 November 2012 06:56 (A review of Great Expectations)

I wanted to like this but it didn't come together for me.ย My favorite aspects of the movie were that Gwyneth Paltrow had great costumes and there was a song I liked by Tori Amos.ย I also enjoyed the actor who played young Finn. When Ethan Hawke took over the role he seemed very needy and whimpered for lack of a better term.


0 comments, Reply to this entry